Well, Hello There!

Me

Welcome! You've reached Portland web designer and graphic designer Adam Wood's shanty on the web. You my friend have found a great web site. Here you get to find out information about my web design, graphic desgin, my hobbies, and my interests while I'm living in Portland, OR. I'm currently a Portland web designer that works with all size business's from around the world. Check out my company Portland Web Design and Development to see all the services that I offer and more information.

My main focus is developing and designing web sites as well as graphic design. When I'm not geeking out on web design and graphics, I enjoy other passed times and hobbies. One of my other creative outlets is glass blowing. As a hobby for years I've created many unique, colorful pieces of art. You might also run into me at a show (music, theater, etc), dining out on some amazing Portland food, hiking up the trails around Portland, Oregon, or just out and about. Stick around and check out the site. I promise you'll find out a lot about Adam Wood.

Google Drive and My Files

April 24th, 2012

Google Drive Terms of Service Screen Shot

Google just launched their new service called Drive.  There’s a million articles around the web about it so if you want to find out the details search it up.  I was thinking of giving it a go with my files, as you all know I currently use Dropbox, but I started to hear and read about the terms of service.  “Worldwide license to use, host, store, reproduce, modify, create, … such content”.  Ouch!  And if I quit using the service? Ouch again!

I think I’ll be keeping Dropbox but it’ll be fun to try out Google Drive.  If you decide to sign up with Dropbox then get some free extra space (for you and me) with my link.

How to make the Trademark, Copyright, or Registered Symbol

April 3rd, 2012

To create a Trademark symbol ™ on a PC

  • hold down the Alt key while keying in 0153

To create the Registered symbol ® on a PC:

  • hold down the Alt key while typing in 0174

To create the Copyright symbol  ©  on a PC:

  • hold down the Alt key while keying in 0169

 

29 Prime (Also called ReliablePlaces.com) and the Google 411 Listing Phone Calls

March 2nd, 2012

29 Prime Scam

For the past year I’ve been receiving calls from an automated message from 29 Prime (I know it’s them specifically and not a affiliate as I talk to the representatives each time they call me) asking me to “Press 1 to update your free Google 411 listing”.  Since I know there is no Google 411 listing anywhere (proof = http://lmgtfy.com/?q=google+411) and  I’m always curious to what they are trying to sell so I press 1 to talk to a representative.  In the past year of getting these calls (around 1-5 per week) I’ve heard so many promises about rankings but many representatives that can’t answer questions.   I’ve even been mysteriously disconnected when I start to ask the hard questions about what would actually be done.  When I try to call back the number it never connects to the company.  It seems very elusive in my opinion.  The website says they have a “Do not call list” but guess what… my number has been on it for 9 months now and I still keep getting calls which I’ve verified as 29 Prime with the representative that answers.

________________________________________________________________________________

Read what Google really says about SEO companies:

“Be wary of SEO firms and web consultants or agencies that send you email out of the blue”
“No one can guarantee a #1 ranking on Google.
“Be careful if a company is secretive or won’t clearly explain what they intend to do.

http://support.google.com/webmasters/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=35291

_________________________________________________________________________________

Here’s a list of the phone numbers that I personally have been called from and I’ve tried to call back:

859-740-2334
619-704-2766
503-468-5227
915-996-2895
405-283-8500
949-797-7199

 

As I suggest with all people that have been called out of the blue, read the reviews from others that have used that companies service.  Many of the reviews seem false (but I can’t be sure) but I do know from just my little blog here that people are posing as customers that really aren’t.  I have the emails and comment ip address’s to prove this.

Here’s a couple places where I found reviews:

http://whocallsme.com/Phone-Number.aspx/9159962895
http://www.yelp.com/biz/29-prime-newport-beach-2
http://complaintwire.org/complaint/eqQBAAAAAAA/29prime-com-or-29-prime-scam-fraudulent (includes information about their previous companies and scams)
http://www.ripoffreport.com/directory/29-prime.aspx

 

UPDATE AND EDIT —– 5/13/12

I received a letter today (5/13/12) asking me to cease and desist internet defamation of a certain company.   I’ve edited my post to make sure that all of my statements and opinions are fact that actually happened to me.  I must disclose that I’ve never used their services so I can’t comment on them.  My issue isn’t their service but the way of robotically calling phone numbers that are either purchased or scrapped from web sites.  The representative’s I’ve talked to told me they “got my phone number from my website that isn’t ranking highly”.

I must state that I never encourage or promote any defamatory statements and all comments on my blog.  All comments belong to and are owned fully by the person making thecomment.  Just the same as Google, Yelp, and a million other review based web sites around the internet.  Here is a link to exactly what a defamatory statment is – http://www.citmedialaw.org/legal-guide/what-defamatory-statement#perSe. As stated above all of these statements and opinions made by me are fact thus not defamatory at all.  Also another good read on substantial truth – http://www.citmedialaw.org/legal-guide/substantial-truth

ANOTHER UPDATE —— 5/13/12 —-

I just got off the phone with a representative there (after three calls from me which two were dropped and the third was just a message to get back to me).  I told them I had received the Cease and Desist letter that they sent and I had revised all of my reviews and postings to make sure that everything I said was FACT.   The original post was opinion based which I’ve willingly now changed to all fact based.

Do follow blog

January 24th, 2012

Do Follow Blog

I’ve decided to make my blog here DoFollow.  I moderate every comment and run Askimet anyway so I feel this is a good move.  It’ll encourage more comments which is something I’d be happy to have.

Think going DoFollow isn’t a good idea?  Why?

Corporate Regulatory Committee from Salem, Oregon is a Scam

January 23rd, 2012

I wanted to let the internet know and spread the word of a scam that is targeting small business’s in Oregon.  I got a letter today from a “Corporate Regulatory Committee” in Salem, Oregon but really this is a scam.  They ask for $238 in order to file an annual report to the Secretary of State according to Oregon statute 60.787.  Being in busisness for years I know that I’ve been sent a letter directly from the secretary of state of Oregon asking for me to update my LLC license and for the renewal fee’s.   This company, “Corporate Regulatory Committee”, is just trying to capitalize on something that isn’t needed and looks official to scare business’s into doing this.

As any informed business should do I did a Google search.  At first I didn’t see any thing about it but hidden down a few listings was a post from the John Gear Law Office.  In their post they also point out that this is a scam and to not send any money to this company.  The original post is here.  Maybe the “Corporate Regulatory Committee” shouldn’t have sent a law firm a scam letter :)

Corporate Regulatory Committee from Salem, Oregon is a Scam Scan Front

Corporate Regulatory Committee from Salem, Oregon is a Scam Scan

Taken directly from the State of Oregon’s website is a quote from Oregon 60.787.  ” The Secretary of State shall mail the annual report form to any address shown for the corporation in the current records of the office. ”

I really don’t like these letters.  I get them all the time from domain registry companies.  They look official, they scare the business into doing something that they don’t need to do, they cost business’s thousands of dollars a year (if not millions, overall), and they are a waste of time.

Next »